Now My Wings Fit

Best of 2016

John Green posted a video on Vlogbrothers recently calling for people to say what their best moments of 2016 were, considering how shit a year it has been. I decided to come up with five things that went well this year for me, to help me look forward to 2017.

1: Started gaming

Back nearer the start of the year, I started playing Skyrim. A little later on I played The Stanley Parable and Undertale, and I have many more games on my to-play list. It’s really starting to shape up my life and I feel myself going in a good direction because of it.

2: Got to see Placebo for the first time

Placebo are one of my favourite bands, but I’ve never had the chance to see them live until 2016. It was an amazing concert, and I’m so glad that I finally got to see them.

3: Got to write my dissertation

My dissertation is my baby. I got to write 12,000 words (well, it was actually 11,806 words) on a subject that I feel passionately about and enjoy researching. It was a great experience and one that I wholly enjoyed.

4: Met some really cool people

I made some great friends this year through my societies and other uni groups. They’re a bunch of people who I can be myself around, and whose very presence is encouraging. My self-esteem has got better this year, and being around people like the ones I’ve met this year has only made my confidence grow. I can’t thank them enough for how they’ve helped me, especially in a shit year such as this.

5: Writing game went through the roof

So this year is the first year that I have felt comfortable and confident in calling myself a writer. I started a Twitter for my writing, and wrote a shit ton. I finished the Loki and the Doctor series, wrote the original fictions The Crown of the Creed and From Me to You, and I started writing the Columbarius series. I won NaNoWriMo this year (without even planning to do it at all), started writing poetry, and wrote over 92,000 words over the autumn term. What’s more than that is that my Word of the Day Challenges on here have been successful and well-received, and I thank anyone and everyone who has liked or commnented on any of them. I challenged myself to do one a day over summer, which was a challenge I completed. All in all, 2016 has been a great year for writing.

2016 has been a shit year all round. In both internal and external affairs, this year has sucked. But a year with bad things in it does not need to be a bad year. There were good things as well, and I hope that those are the things we carry with us as we go forward into 2017.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

