Now My Wings Fit

Word of the Day Challenge: Pecksniffian

Spoilers for: Merlin 2×08, The Sins of the Father; Merlin 5×02, Arthur’s Bane Part 2

Pecksniffian – blatantly hypocritical; self-righteous

Disclaimer: Don’t own Merlin

“Explain. Now.”

Merlin opened his mouth to speak, but only a pained croak came out. He reached up to the wrist of the hand clamped around his throat and holding him up against the wall.

Arthur’s eyes widened slightly as he realised what he was doing. He quickly pulled his hand back and walked over to the table and chairs. He didn’t sit down.

Merlin stumbled forward slightly, massaging his sore throat, before he began to explain.

“There are a lot of lies that I’ve told you over the years, Arthur, and for that I can only ask your forgiveness. But one of those lies… Do you remember when Morgause showed you your mother?”

“Of course I do.”

“Well, I was lying when I said the image was false. Everything she said was true.”

Arthur gulped. He backed up a few steps, and fell into a chair. “W-” He paused, licking his lips. “What are you saying?”

“I’m saying that you were born of magic, Arthur Pendragon.”

“But what does that mean?”

Merlin let out a small chuckle. “Mordred and I have been working on that for months. As far as we can tell, you’re the first person like this. And it would seem that you have at least some latent magic, whatever that means.”

“B-but… my father… He hated that which gave me life? He persecuted it?”

Merlin shifted uncomfortably. “I would never wish to speak ill of your father to you.”

“But he was that pecksniffian?”

There was a pause.

“It… it would seem that way, yes.”

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

