Now My Wings Fit

Fake DnD campaign

I have a little bit of a problem. I got kind of obsessed with all of the different combinations of characters that you can have in DnD (in particular 5e, because that’s the version my group plays). So obsessed that I made another character, one which I had no real intention (or way) of playing.

And I could have accepted that as fine, if she had been the only one. But she wasn’t. When I was making Sharon (this new character), I was looking through the backgrounds and saw two variant backgrounds that piqued my interest: pirate and knight. I think it’s fairly obvious that I am somewhat obsessed with knights anyway, so I couldn’t pass up the opportunity to make a character who was a knight. As for the pirate…

Well, I basically turned Abigail from Repaid in Full into a DnD character, fleshing out her backstory and making sense of all that happened in that short.

So now I had three characters, and when developing their backstories, I realised something strange was happening: they were gravitating towards each other. Literally, geographically, gravitating towards each other. I realised that, with not that much tweaking, it would be very easy for the three of them to end up on the same island in south-west Faerûn.

So now I have the beginnings of a campaign on my hands, that I was never intending to actually run. Not that I ever could, anyway.

So, what I have decided to do is to write up these characters onto this blog, with all of their basic info at Level 1 and their backstories, and upload them in an appropriate order. I still have one character to finish off (who should, by rights, be the first to be posted, otherwise the others won’t make as much sense), but I shall be posting their details on here in due course.

That is, if I don’t give in to the temptation to make a fourth character just to round the party off. After all, all of the characters I’ve made so far are humans, and it would be good for diversity to have a character of a different race in there (never mind that I’ve already picked a race and a kind-of background for him, and that the only thing that’s stopping me is that I’m a bit stuck on his class).

So that’s basically what I’ve been up to, when I’ve been supposed to have been doing other things.

Whoops…

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Fake DnD campaign

  1. Pingback: Those DnD characters | Now My Wings Fit

Leave a Reply

