Now My Wings Fit

Word of the Day Challenge: Cicerone

So, I kind of messed this one up. I had the idea for this scene before I’d written it, but when I was writing it, I wasn’t paying enough attention and the plot went places without me. Places where it no longer fits in with what I had planned…

Cicerone – a guide (sometimes of sightseers)

Warning: slash

Disclaimer: Don’t own Merlin

He wasn’t sure how he had managed to get here before. Actually, looking for that mystical lake was so very different from accidentally stumbling across it. He briefly entertained the idea of asking Merlin along as a cicerone, but then remembered that it kind of would have been missing the point.

He wasn’t sure how long he had been travelling when he felt it: that familiar yet still fantastical feel of the pull of magic, drawing him in what he assumed was the right direction. As he got nearer and nearer, the sense surrounding him intensified, until he finally pushed through the last trees and the lake was there, perfectly still as he had always remembered it.

He unsheathed his sword and stuck it in the forest floor, just behind the last tree, and then ventured forth onto the banks of the lake.

As soon as he passed the treeline, the sense of all that he was surrounded by became disorientating, leaving him light-headed.

He reached the shore of the lake and fell to his knees, the water soaking the material of his breeches.

He was expecting something to happen, and when nothing did, he found himself wondering if he should say something.

He was just about to when a figure began to rise from the lake, not causing ripple and staying perfectly dry.

When she was completely out of the water, she began to make her way over. She stopped just before where he was kneeling.

He looked up at her, and he couldn’t deny her beauty.

He cleared his throat, which was suddenly incredibly dry. “Are you Freya?”

She smiled down at him. “I am.”

“I… I have come to ask your permission-”

“That is sweet of you. I gather he did not tell you that I have already given it?”

He blinked. “He did not.”

She chuckled. “Don’t worry about me. Just treat him well.”

“Of course,” he whispered.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

