Now My Wings Fit

Writing Prompt: A houseplant is dying. Tell it why it needs to live.

So I’ve recently joined a new writing group on Facebook, and a prompt was posted: A houseplant is dying. Tell it why it needs to live. This is my contribution.

I would miss watering you. It’s part of my routine. I leave that little bottle next to you, filled with the leftovers from the bottles I take to work with me every day, so that I can top you up each morning. What would I do with that water? I could put it in the iron, I suppose… But I’d much rather give it to you. I don’t like ironing.

BONUS! I started writing something else for this as well, and I didn’t get very far with it… I still liked it, though, so I’ve decided to post it anyway.

There would be a gap, on the windowsill. The sun would waste its light, giving it to nothing instead of giving it to you. Where there is currently a shadow, there would be a patch of sunlight; warm and light, offering no shade to those who used to sit in it.

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Writing Prompt: A houseplant is dying. Tell it why it needs to live.

  1. Pingback: Writing prompt: Tell a story that begins with a ransom note | Now My Wings Fit

Leave a Reply

