Now My Wings Fit

CWS Exercise: Choose an emotion for a character to have

This exercise was actually to give a character a lack or an abundance of an emotion and then either give it to the character or take it away. I sort of did this, but really, I was trying to practice ‘show, don’t tell’, which I’ve never been very good at.

As per usual when it comes to these exercises, I used them to write scenes of stories that I already had in my head. This was a Yu-Gi-Oh! fanfiction which I had thought about and wasn’t sure that I was going to write. I still don’t really know if I’m going to write it yet, but I did enjoy writing this scene.

Disclaimer: Don’t own Yu-Gi-Oh!

He laid his head back against the tree, taking in deep breaths of air as he tried to ignore the rustling of fabric coming from the other side of the trunk.

Vision blurring as waves of pain rushed over his body, he was capable only of one single coherent thought:

Ishizu. She can help me.

With all of the stealth that he had acquired from years of sneaking around the house trying to avoid his stepfather, Seto pushed himself to his feet, staggering as the intense vertigo threatened to send him tumbling back to the ground.

Focusing all of his energy on simply putting one foot in front of the other, he pushed forward, heading for the apartment of the woman he’d hoped he would never have to see again.

“Seto?” Ishizu asked, her eyes widening at the sight of the CEO on her doorstep.

His usually immaculate brown hair was skew-whiff and tangled atop his head, his eyes glazed and his cheeks flushed, as he leaned against the door frame, panting.

“What’s – happening to me?” he gasped when he could finally draw enough breath to form words. The simple act of speaking, however, drained the little energy he had left, and – before he knew it – all he could see was blackness.

* * *

Soft. The first thing he noticed was soft: both outside, for he was lying on a cushioned surface of some kind, and inside, for someone had rather annoyingly stuffed his head full of cotton wool.

“Ah!” he exclaimed at the sudden feeling of delicate fingers prodding at his cheek. His entire body jerked backwards from his assailant, his eyes snapping open to catch who dared attack him in his very own home…

Except he wasn’t in his very own home. He was lying on his side, on a sofa, his feet hanging off of the edge, in an apartment he’d hoped he would never have to visit.

He groaned as his vision cleared and Ishizu’s face came into view before him.

“Why am I on your sofa?” he growled.

“You collapsed on my doorstep. Would you rather I’d left you there?”

He replied with a non-committal grunt.

“I didn’t come here to be nursed. I just want to know why this is happening so I can sort it out myself.”

Ishizu snorted; Seto’s lips curled into a sneer.

“You cannot sort this out on your own,” she told him.

“Try me.”

She raised her eyebrow. “Very well. If you can sort it out on your own, then why don’t you start with sitting up?”

Gritting his teeth to refrain from retorting, Seto pressed his palm into the cushioned material upon which he was lying, pushing himself into a sitting position – only to be assaulted with a wave of dizziness so powerful that the next thing that he was aware of, he was back where he had started, only this time, Ishizu was smirking at him.

“Fine,” he conceded, settling into the sofa once more.

After all, it was an incredibly soft sofa.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

