Now My Wings Fit

CWS Exercise: Conversation, suspense, and twist

We had a session on short stories, and we were told to write a short story that involved a conversation, suspense, and a twist. This is another excerpt from the Eternal War Trilogy, around what was going to be the third/fourth chapter of the first book.

WARNINGS: Femslash (lesbian relationship) and a swear word.

“Why didn’t you come back to me?” Feidlimid hissed, her eyes darting briefly to the side of the tent.

“You think I didn’t want to? You think if I could have, I wouldn’t have come straight back to that little tavern in the middle of nowhere?”

Feidlimid grit her teeth, her hands balling into fists at her sides. “And what was stopping you? I suppose you were too busy fucking your girlfriend to remember me, sitting at home and waiting for you.”

Guinevere scowled, checking her left and her right for eavesdroppers; satisfied that the coast was clear, she hooked her fingers underneath the hem of her top and lifted it a few inches, revealing, on her stomach, a jagged, thin scar.

All tension left Feidlimid’s body as her gaze fell on the ugly line marring the warrior’s formerly perfectly smooth skin.

“I was injured,” Guinevere barked. “Shot with an arrow and left for hours. The wound became infected, and I almost didn’t make it. That’s why I didn’t come back to you.”

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

